President Muhammadu Buhari, has on Tuesday evening, ordered that the nine Federal Universities established under the administration of his predecessor, former President Goodluck Jonathan, to be probed immediately.
Buhari made this known, at the maiden convocation ceremony of one of the Universities, the Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo, FUNAI, Ebonyi State.
This came barely a few hours, when the Presidency disclosed that the Buhari-led Federal Government, had recovered a total sum of N288.6 billion from the previous regime of ex-President, Goodluck Jonathan.

Represented by the Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission, NUC, Prof. Rasheed Abaubakar, Buhari remarked that Universities must set example in good governance, and financial management.

He said, the move was to ensure transparency and accountability in the management of public funds, and also determine its quantum.
The Universities are: Federal University Otuoke, Bayelsa State; Federal University, Ndufu-Alikie Ikwo Ebonyi State; Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State; and Federal University Dutse, Jigawa State.
Others are: Federal University Dutsin-Ma, Katsina State; Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State; Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State; Federal University, Kashere Gombe State; and Federal University Wakari, Taraba State; among others.
All established by former President Goodluck Jonathan, Buhari said there is, “No room for corruption in the academic sector.

“Very soon, we will tour all projects executed by our new Federal Universities, to ensure that funds allocated to them, are judiciously utilized.
“Our universities must be example in good governance and financial management. So, no room for corruption in the academic sector,” Buhari reiterated.


Post a Comment